Snapchat on Saturday released Snap Map in its latest update, which lets users share their location with friends on map.. Users can simply pinch to zoom out and view the Map. Whether to share location with friends or not can be selected from the menu. People who don‚Äôt want to share their location at all, will need to use the Snapchat app in Ghost Mode.
‚ÄúWe‚Äôve built a whole new way to explore the world! See what‚Äôs happening, find your friends, and get inspired to go on an adventure!‚Äù Snap‚Äôs blog post read. ‚ÄúIf your friends are sharing their location with you, their Actionmoji will appear on the Map. Actionmojis only update when you open Snapchat‚Äù it added.
But on the contrary Snap Map can pose a potential threat to a user‚Äôs privacy given many might choose to use the feature at a given time willingly, unaware of the fact that their current location is being automatically updated and is visible to friends each time their Snapchat app is opened.¬†‚ÄúUsers might not understand that Snap is posting your location on Snap Map every time you open the app. Not just when you share Snaps to Our Story,‚Äù a report in The Verge mentioned.